8th BerkeleyGW Tutorial Workshop


3rd Berkeley Excited States Conference (BESC2022)


We are happy to have you join us for the 8th BerkeleyGW Tutorial Workshop and the 3rd Berkeley Excited States Conference (BESC2022), in a virtual online format this time. Time: January 10 - 12, 2022 (Tutorial Workshop) and January 13 - 14, 2022 (BESC2022 Conference).

Similar to last year, this year we will have a 3-day workshop (instructions and hands-on) + a 2-day conference. Please see the Registration information at the bottom of this page.

BerkeleyGW Tutorial Workshop

Three-day workshop with instructions and hands-on sessions. Computing resources and temporary training accounts at NERSC will be provided.

Workshop Time: January 10 - 12, 2022, Pacific Standard Time

Location: Zoom ID & password will be provided to registered participants only

The target participants for the Workshop are graduate students, postdocs, and researchers who are interested in learning about or sharpening their skills on ab initio calculations of many-electron effects in excited-state properties of condensed matter.

Tutorial content includes GW and GW-BSE calculations using BerkeleyGW on solids and low-dimensional materials, quasiparticle band structures, optical spectra including electron-hole interactions, analysis of excitons, etc.

Some exercises and resources from previous Workshops can be found at: https://berkeleygw.org/documentation/

Quick links

Learn more about BerkeleyGW at: https://berkeleygw.org/

3rd Berkeley Excited States Conference (BESC2022)

In tandem to the annual BerkeleyGW Workshop, we will host a two-day annual conference (online virtual): the Berkeley Excited States Conference 2022 (BESC2022).

Conference Time: January 13 - 14, Pacific Standard Time

Location: Zoom ID & password will be provided to registered participants only

BESC2022 will be a general topical conference with mainly invited talks by experts on recent progress in the theory and applications of ab initio study of quantum many-body effects as well as experiments in excited-state phenomena in materials, showcasing forefront research that involves advanced many-body approaches (e.g., GW, GW-BSE & beyond, DMFT, quantum Monte Carlo, TDDFT, TDGW, etc.), novel experiments, and new science in the excited state.

BESC2022 Program and Schedule: Click here.

BESC 2022 Invited Speakers:

Brad Barker (UC Merced)

Dmitri Basov (Columbia University)

Timothy Berkelbach (Columbia University)

Garnet Chan (Caltech)

Eberhard Gross (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Jonah Haber (UC Berkeley and LBNL)

Martin Head-Gordon (UC Berkeley)

Tony Heinz (Stanford University)

Chen Hu (UC Berkeley and LBNL)

Juerg Hutter (Universität Zürich)

Feng Liu (University of Utah)

Andrea Marini (National Research Council of Italy)

Prineha Narang (Harvard University)

Eric Neuscamman (UC Berkeley)

Andrew Rappe (University of Pennsylvania)

Jiawei Ruan (UC Berkeley and LBNL)

Zhi-Xun Shen (Stanford University)

Mark van Schilfgaarde (King's College London)

Xifan Wu (Temple University)

Jin Zhao (University of Science & Technology of China)


You may register for the Tutorial Workshop and/or BESC2022 Conference using the link below (Google Form). The registration is free.

Note: There is no registration limit on the lecture part of the Tutorial Workshop and the BESC2021 Conference. However, due to limited computing and human resources, we will limit the number of attendees to the hands-on session of the Workshop to be around 150+. The final selection of hands-on session attendees will be notified before the Workshop. Early registration and detailed information provided in the registration form will help in our selection.

Both events are sponsored by DOE’s Center for Computational Study of Excited-State Phenomena in Energy Materials (C2SEPEM). Learn more at: https://c2sepem.lbl.gov/

The 2022 Organizing Committee:

Steven G. Louie, Chair (UC Berkeley and LBNL)

Mauro Del Ben (LBNL)

Jack R. Deslippe (LBNL)

Felipe H. da Jornada (Stanford University)

Zhenglu Li (LBNL and UC Berkeley)

Diana Y. Qiu (Yale University)

David A. Strubbe (UC Merced)